help me buy an xbox 360!

Okay, this is embarrassing. I’m a fairly tech-savvy guy. I worked as a PC tech in college, for god’s sake. I ran a hackintoshed netbook, use Linux on a regular basis. I am not a chump.

But I just can’t figure out the whole xbox 360 thing. There are too many different models that have been released, with overly-subtle variations in feature set, price, and so on.

So, here’s the deal: I want to buy an xbox 360, with one or two games to start. (Bioshock in particular). I’d like it to have a sufficiently large hard drive that I won’t feel like newer games are pissed at me, and I want to be able to stream Netflix on it. I’ll need an HDMI adapter, I think. And wifi would be good.

So - what do I buy? Arcade? Pro? Elite? Are these all the same thing? Can I risk buying refurbished/used, or do I really need a new box to avoid the Red Ring of Death? Is there a solid “guide to buying an x-box 360” somewhere?

And ye gods, when did buying a bloody videogame console become so complicated?

This’ll get kicked over to the game room, but I’ll try and answer. If you want a hard drive, you can forget about the Arcade. The Elite is basically the new version of the Pro. Pros are no longer in production. Supposedly the newer XBoxes have a lower rate of RRoD, but the biggest problem with buying used/refurbished is no/shorter warrenty. Fixing a RRoD out a warrenty is pretty expensive. And the Pro isn’t that much cheaper.

You’re best off going with the Elite. It’s HDMI capable, but cables aren’t included with the newest models. The (horrible overpriced) WiFi adapter is sold separately as well, but you can hack a router to do the same thing or just run it through your laptop.

If you want the hard drive, go with the Elite. Otherwise, go with the Pro. The Pro that I currently have has an HDMI output.

Is not complicated.