help me find a univsersity in america

I’m an Australian uni student, and I’m thinking about going on exchange to America. Thinking, as in, ohmygodisowantto,nowwherecanigethemoney???

So I’ve been looking around at the universities that my uni has programs set up with (I pay cheaper Australian fees, instead of expensive US ones) and I went to the open day where all the universities sold themselves, and I’ve looked at pamphlets and gone to all the websites, and I’m really excited and it seems totally cool, but I have no idea where to go.

Hence this thread.

The big problem I’m finding is that there is always some magazine that will say X University is in the top ten Universities that do X. It’s a bit hard to get reasonable information, because they’re all trying to sound like they’re the best uni ever.

Now, I’m going on exchange cause I reckon this would be the best way to see America. And I’d love to see America. So, of course, I want a good university, but just as important is that it’s in a good location where I can get around and see a lot of stuff, and have a good time while I’m there. For instance, one of the ones on my list, University of Arkansas, is in Fayetteville, which seems to be a long way from anywhere and hence, doesn’t offer me as much opportunity to get around and see stuff as say, University of Virginia, in Charlottesville, which is close to DC and lots of other exciting east coast things.

Some information:

I like cities. I’ve accepted that the college town seems to be a strong part of the American college experience, and I think I could cope with something a little less urban if there are reasonably large cities in the area that I can visit. I’m open to both, but I’d prefer to live in a city.

I like liberal areas. It probably doesn’t matter; college environments are pretty liberal anywhere, right, but I just know I’ll be more comfortable in a liberal environment.