Help me get back into computer programming

Here’s the TL;DR: What language, development environment, or other resources should I use to figure out how to make simple-but-useful, standalone, Windows programs/apps (on a strictly amateur level)?

Now the background:

Back in the 80s and 90s I was a fairly decent amateur-level programmer using BASIC, Pascal, and a smattering of other languages (including (Visual) C++) that I’d have to relearn in order to do anything useful with them today.

Recently I’ve been playing around with Python, and I’ve gotten it to do some fairly useful things. But I was disgusted when I found out it’s strictly an interpreted language, so you apparently (correct me if I’m wrong) can’t use it to write stand-alone software that you could actually give to someone else that they could actually use without having to install Python. Which I’d kind of like to be able to do. So now I’m thinking I ought to move on to a real, grown-up language.

But which one? C++? Java? C#? Visual Basic—do people still use that? Something else? And what’s the best (easiest, quickest, friendliest) way to get up to speed, without being overwhelmed with stuff that I’m not ready to worry about? I’m thinking about writing Windows apps, but if they’re easily portable, that’s a plus, and I’m also open to learning about Web-based or Android app programming. I’m not looking to go pro or produce anything too major.

Any books, websites, or other resources you’d particularly recommend?