Help me help a kid become engaged in learning (via game programming)

I am a tutor. The subjects I cover are pretty much everything except maths. At the moment I have 4 kids ranging from 16 down to 10. They are all great kids who are working hard, grades improving yadda yadda yadda. Except for the 10 yr old.

The kid is smart, precocious and painfully uninterested in learning. He has missed a huge among of school (more than a year) and is woefully behind. My job is to try and reverse some of this.

Presently I am going for the low hanging fruit and he and I have an agreement. The kid likes games - obsessively almost so the program we are working on is based them.
For example a game he is playing mentions the Bermuda triangle so he is researching’ doing comprehension and critical thinking tasks and some creative writing all based on the Bermuda triangle.

He is really interested in actually creating his own computer game. Which I am encouraging because I have ideas on shoving some serious learning into the process as well as getting him interested in some non game stuff.

I however have not so much as a clue as to producing an actual game program. So I am seeking help. Aeons ago I learned Basic but I suspect there just might be something better floating around that Mr precocious could have a go at learning.

So HELP please thankyouverymuch.

There are tons of options, but if you know BASIC, you might have a look at DarkBASIC which is meant for game programming.

If that doesn’t suit you, I’ll think on it some more. (that is just one of many books on DarkBASIC game programming.)

This one might be better as a starter: DarkBASIC Programming for the Absolute Beginner (No Experience Required (Course Technology)) [Paperback]

I gather you’re not a programmer yourself? In that case, I’d recommend looking for a bunch of different options, letting him pick one, and then emphasize that you are both learning together.