Help me learn about USB and Bluetooth on WinXP PCs?

Help me understand USB and eventually Bluetooth as they should operate on a PC? I tried installing a USB Bluetooth adapter on my desktop PC to use little dataloggers that need it, but it’s unreliable, and a few specific things seem wrong, including USB 2.0 ports that reverted to 1.1 back when a shop reinstalled Windows.

I’ve never used Bluetooth before and don’t know what to expect, either. I’d like to understand all this better and also to fix it or make my fix more thorough and neat and traceable.

My PC is a Dell Dimension 4600 with WinXP Pro SP2. It’s almost 5 years old and all the hardware is as Dell assembled it. A couple years ago it became badly infected with some virus or malware (in spite of AdAware and SpyBot and Norton Antivirus and a hardware firewall in a router). I couldn’t fix it and took it to a shop that reinstalled Windows, but all the USB ports changed from 2.0 to 1.1. On inserting any USB device, a box would suggest choosing a USB 2.0 port instead, “Click Here” for a list of them, and clicking makes it say there are no USB 2.0 ports.

I’ve worked on this a little here and there without any success, until the other day when I got a USB 2 driver installed, apparently making the ports operate as USB 2.0 again. But I don’t understand what I’m doing, don’t trust it, and doubt it is all clean and right.