Help me plan my post-apocalyptic road trip!

Scenario is this, in the near future a pandemic wipes out most of humanity until for all intents and purposes I’m the only person left.*

I live in Northern Ireland but I have relatives in New York, USA. For a lack of anything better to do I decide to visit to see if any of them have survived. What would be the best way for me to do so?

For background and further information on yours truly:

I’m in my mid-30’s, fairly fit and healthy.

I can drive manual and automatic cars, I have no real experience with anything larger than that. I did grow up on a farm so I have driven quad bikes and used tractors.

I have a basic understand of the principles of flight and I’ve taken a few lessons in a glider/sailplane. Basically no knowledge of boats apart from that they float.

I have self-defence training and know how to use a firearm though I have no particular knowledge or skill regarding either.

I’m not vegetarian.

Only humanity is gone, animals and plants etc are still around and infrastructure is still mostly intact.

I’m sure there’s other important information I’ve missed, if anyone has any questions ask. :slight_smile:

*yes I realise this is extraordinarily unlikely, if you don’t like a pandemic use whatever means you like to depopulate the world but leave the infrastructure intact.

I think I’d rather try and take a boat across the pond over trying to learn to fly a plane. Yeah a plane will get you there faster, but what about finding an airport and trying to land. Plus if you run out of fuel in a boat you can still float at least.

Yeah, you might run a boat aground near the shore/port, but at least you’d be better off swimming or taking a row boat the rest of the way. I may not know how to steer a boat either, but I’d rather take my chances screwing that up over a plane. Once in the states it shouldn’t be a problem to get a car and find your way to New York and where you want to go.