Help me protest High School policy, what is the legaily of this?

I graduated a few years ago at a school where my friends and i were very active in the theatre department. In addition we did several community theatre shows throughout the year, which was a great hobby and a great way for some of my friends to get more theatrical experience (especially those intending to go into it as a career).

Now that school has started back up there is a new teacher in the department (replacing our much beloved old one), and apparently this new teacher has created a new rule…students in the theatre productions class (the class that does 3 annual shows) are no longer allowed to participate in any community theatre. Outraged isn’t even a word to describe how i feel

My question is what is the legality of a teacher of a class to restrict what healthy hobbies students have OUTSIDE OF SCHOOL. Especially since many of these kids would like as much experience as possible before going to college for theatre. I figure first i send as many emails as it takes to the school board to get a response, then make appearances in person if need be. I don’t see HOW this is in the power of the teachers to do, and i would love to see them have tried to stop my group from doing shows outside of school (they made for some of my most fond memories). Give me the info i need to help me protest this idiotic rule!

Has this drama teacher made any explanation of the reason for this rule? Like “We don’t want students’ community theater time conflicting with school theater time”?

Or is this one of the oh-too-typical internecine arts community personality clashes where the new drama teacher has a major feud going with the director of your community theater?