Help me spool a fishing reel

I’m just getting into fishing, and the nice man at the store politely pointed gullible old me into dropping $250 on a sweet ass rod and reel setup. I’m a total amateur, but it seemed like a good investment.

Anyway, I threaded a nice arbor knot onto the baitcaster reel, and wound it up nice and tight. The only problem is that even when the reel is “locked”, you can still pull on the line and unwind! When I get to the very end of the line, no amount of pulling is going to yank it off, so I know my knot is solid.

What’s the deal, guys?

First thing you should check is to see if your drag is set. On the handle side of your reel, there should be a star shaped thing. Tighten it by turning it towards the reel.

If that solves your problem, we can work on setting your drag to the right amount of pressure so you don’t snap your line on a big fish!

:smiley: Baitcaster huh? For $250, does it untangle its own birdnests and backlash?

I haven’t fished much for a the last several years, but all of a sudden I have the urge to go to Wal-Mart and buy a Zebco 33. Just because.

nm

Just playing around and read this article for how to set up a baitcaster to prevent backlash. That’s about the process I used to follow, but apparently I’m not a naturally gifted fisherperson.

That’s the ticket!

The main function of the drag is to lock the spool up until the set amount of pressure.

This lets you set the hook and keep pressure on the fish. If you set the drag pressure too tight, however, a larger fish can pull hard enough to snap your line.

A properly set drag, will let the fish pull line out when it pulls hard enough to reach the breaking strength of your line.

Most people can set the drag by hand but if you want to be a little more precise, buying a spring scale with a sliding notchwill help a lot. Offshore fisherman here in California will use such a scale and set their drag to about 1/3 the rated breaking strength of the line.