Help, my ear is plugged

I had a head cold a week and a half ago, and I seem to be over it, although my left ear is still plugged. Holding my nose and blowing gives me an occasional pop, but doesn’t clear the tube. I’ve q-tipped way beyond recommendation.

I could certainly use some doper suggestions
rubes

There was a thread on this in GQ a week or so ago…

But generally speaking: sudafed…shower steam…drink lots of water…if you’re up to it, you can try Hypertonic Saline Irrigation (it’s what I use with good success).

I’m not a doctor…yadda yadda

Go to a doctor. I had the same thing happen about ten years ago - after a bad cold, my ear was plugged. They determined I had a big ol’ plug of earwax in my ear canal, and quickly and painlessly removed it via irrigation. Plus, I could hear better than I had in years! Go do it.

I second the idea of going to the doctor. My ear was blocked for a couple of days and I went to my doctor and had it flushed out - one inital water spray and then a second one to get rid of any remaining bits. It was pretty cool - I got to see little bits of ear wax floating around in a bowl and the whooooosh as sound came flooding back was fantastic.

When we were kids, my dad used to pour gin in our ears when they got plugged up. I’d suggest going back to the doctor; you don’t want to mess with a possible hearing loss.

Well, ok, I guess I’ll have to schedule a doctors visit. I was hoping there was a wonder cure at Walgreen’s or where ever, but you guys are probably right.

thanks, though, this is probably the push I needed.

rubes

ok, 3:45 appt with Dr.Scott

You can dilute hydrogen peroxide in water and drip it into your ears. This “eats” at the infected wax that is no doubt blocking your ears. It’s the same thing that happens with swimmers ear, except the infection probably comes from your sinuses during your cold.

Just my two (2) cents.