Help two midwestern kids find The Holy Grail (Spamalot in NYC)

My friend has agreed to go with me to NYC to see Spamalot! Yay!

I’ve never been to NYC before, 'cept on a bus trip in High School.

We are pretty sure we’re going to drive, unless I can find good airline tickets (I haven’t asked if he’s afraid to fly…hmm…)

So I want to drive to my hotel, park my car, and not drive it anymore. I’m hip to taxis and the subway and walking.

I need some recomendations, though!

Where should we stay? How can we make this trip as easy as possible?

If I end up driving I want to be able to EASILY drive to the hotel. I am a good driver but I am not about to be tooling around NYC in an SUV with Ohio plates :slight_smile:

Should we look for some sort of package deal with a hotel? Are most hotels near the theater district able to get us tickets? Is that worth it?

Hmmm this post is all fragmented…I’m at work…but I wanted to get the ball rolling on my question so I can gather as much info as possible.

Oh, man.

Oh, MAN.

Drive… to the hotel and park?

Driving in Manhattan’s…

I’ve done it. I even tailed someone who knew where we were going and I didn’t.

But if you can find SOME motherloving way not to do it… don’t do it.

Sure you can’t take a train? The Greyhound?

http://www.flyi.com/
They are having a sale – you can get each leg for $89 if you can fly during non-peak days (tues/wed/thurs).
I promise you that connecting through DC will be well, well, well, well worth the hassle.

Another option if you are dead set on spending 24 hours of your life driving to and from NYC, is to locate a “Park & Ride” commuter lot somewhere in New Jersey and leave your car there while you take PATH or NJTransit commuter rail into the city. Make double & triple sure they allow cars to stay over night!

Yeah, that bad huh?

I’m all for taking an airplane and a cab. I’ll look into prices.

Surely Cleveland to NYC can’t be that expensive. And with gas at $2.49/gal…yeah…we’ll fly :slight_smile: