Help with MSDOS

I was in CyberExchange today, and saw a game I had really enjoyed playing a few years back on my Atari ST. I bought it, and came home only to find it’s DOS based. I installed it, opened a dos window, and ran the game. The intro plays fine, but then the game ends, and the DOS window just says “bye” in it. Anyone have any ideas on what this means and how I might be able to play this game? Thanks.

Oh, I run Windows ME on an 800Mhz P III with 256 mb RAM. And ME desent have the “restart in DOS mode” option from the start menu.

Starting with Windows 98, Microsoft decided it wasn’t worth it to continue 100% ms-dos compatibility. So some ms-dos programs stopped working with 98. Windows ME and 2000 are even worse. At my company it was a huge issue because a few of our statistics packages only run in DOS.

Being a programmer myself I would guess that it has to do with the protected memory management system. DOS Games used to write directly to the video memory for speed, but in a protected memory system you have to first request access to the video ram otherwise you get a blue screen and a general fault protection error. Then all you can do is give it a three-fingered salute.

You can partition your hard-drive and run an old version of dos on it but I don’t think it will be worth the hassle involved.

What game is it, Dave? Maybe you could find an emulated version that will work.

I can almost guarantee you that there’s a Windows-based Atari ST emulator out there (do a Google search for “Atari ST Emulator”). All you need then is the ROM for the game, which you can probably find with another Google search; assuming you own the original game, you can legally download this ROM.

Going this route will guarantee you get the same gameplay you did on the real ST, whereas the DOS version likely has differences.