Help With Starting A New Career

I have recently become unemployed and am finding that my previous experience is not going to help me get me a new job without some very specific training and certification of some sort, and I need to consider getting myself some training. In my last company, I was involved with a lot of the technical aspects of my industry from lasers to PLCs to project management to high-vacuum applications and micro-photolithography, even though I have no formal education to speak of.

One task that I took on for my last company was database design using Access, and even though I was totally self-taught, I was pretty good at it. Now that I have to contemplate changing careers, perhaps my best bet would be something in the IT industry.

Looking at various employment websites (Monster, Dice, JobSever, etc.), I see a ton of jobs related to XML, .NET, SQL, Oracle and a host of others.

1. Can you give me any advice on how to proceed – or even if I should proceed? Can taking some online courses for a few weeks or months help to get employed, considering that after the training, I would still have no experience at all?
  2. Are there any online learning courses available that are particularly effective for a specific discipline?
  3. Do you have any specific recommendations about XML, .NET, etc., or should I concentrate on learning any specific programming languages?

I know that this is a complicated subject, and I’m sure that I haven’t begun to ask the right questions, but any guidance you can give me to get started will be appreciated.

I think the first step should be developing an overall plan. You got as far as you did with no formal education, but these days people are in a lifelong learning mode that combines formal education, informal education, and experience in an ongoing way.