Help writing a website

So I got railroaded into being president of the local rugby club. One of the things I want to improve is our website, but no one in the club has any experience with authoring websites and we can’t afford to hire anyone. So, the only solution is to learn how and to do it myself.

The current site is really ugly and the guy we have who updates it really has no idea what he is doing. So, what is the best way to go about this? Though I have never played with web design before I am aware that the way people use to make sites is to basically copy one you like and modify the code to make it distinct and incorporate ideas you like from other sites. These days, though, there appear to be quite a few payed or free programs to make designing sites easier, like Dreamweaver for example. I don’t know how good they are and how much flexibility they offer though.

I am an engineer and know quite a few programming languages, so I have no fear of learning html, CSS, and javascript, which seems to be what you need to know to do anything on the web these days, but I am not sure it is worth my time. I have gotten through the xhtml portion of a book on the subject and am working through CSS, but learning javascript seems like it would be a much bigger chore.

So, what are your thoughts. Should I learn html, css, and javascript, incorporate code from sites I like, and simply use a debugger like in Seamonkey? If so do you recommend xhtml or transitional? Should I use one of the free web page design programs and if so which one? Is one of the paid programs so much better that it is worth the cost?

Proper real web design people will be along shortly, no doubt, who will give you good advice. I’ve heard good things about WordPress, in terms of ease of use and updating - they certainly have a lot of templates you can use and adapt to suit your needs (particularly if you know CSS), and plug-ins that add all kinds of functionality. Might be worth looking into.