Hey OttoDaFe, I dont need programming lessons (warning, strong language)

I asked a straightforward question in GQ. I was looking for some help. Did you give any? No you fucking didnt. You tried to give me a lesson in programming. Well fuck you bubba I’ve been programming for 11 years and dont need lessons from you. Let me summarise what you said. Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong.

Back when you taught programming (btw the old adage about those who can, do, those who cant, teach applies particularly to software development in my experience) you always told your pupils to use OPTION EXPLICIT. Very good advice for VB. I always tells this to junior programmers myself. Except the question was about Access programming but I digress. Then you go on to say that you’re not sure you can do this in ACCESS. So you’re giving me advice on something you have never worked in. Well fuck you again I say.

Unless you have something constructive to say on a topic you know something about then shut the fuck up.

(this is my first pit rant and it sure felt good).

Warning: link to completely innocent GQ thread

Woza, if you do this to people who try to help, then I wouldn’t expect people to bother in the future…

I’m confused; first you say “Waah! boo hoo! I’ve got a really difficult Access question”, then you say “I don’t need programming lesssons” Make your mind up.

Sorry chum, OttoDaFe simply gave an earnest answer that you consider to be slightly less than useful - this is not pit-worthy. It just makes you look bad.

Besides, OttoDaFe’s answer was VBA-related; you are aware that it’s VBA you’re using in Access, aren’t you?

Sure he did. His advice was probably one of the first things you’d tell someone to look for in a situation like this. A simple misnamed variable would have caused the problem you encountered. I couldn’t even begin to count the number of times something like dAmount1 being written as dAmountl. OPTION EXPLICIT will help catch those.