High on bread

My oldest son who is schooling to become a chef insists that it is possible to get stoned on bread dough. I think I heard this once before, but forget where. Is this really possible?

I’m not quite sure what your son is refering to, exactly. I’m also a culinary student, and I don’t remember hearing about “getting stoned off of bread”. There are two explanations to his conclusion:

1. The Egyptians figured out how to make beer by letting bread dough ferment in water; the yeasts fed off of the flour, and helped the fermentation process, creating one of the divine liquids ever to flow upon the earth.

But, I get a feeling that he was most likely refering to:

1. Ergot. Ergot is a fungus that grows in rye stored in damp, cool conditions. When this infected rye is ground, baked into loaves, and eaten, it would cause Ergotism, also known as St. Anthony’s Fire. There are many accounts of Ergotism through out the Middle Ages, especially happening when the growing season was particularly wet. This condition would cause a dry gangrene in the extremities that often ended in the affected limbs to fall off; with this, bouts of madness and convulsions would occur.

You may ask why I mention this second point?

One of the by-products of the Ergot fungus is lysergic acid, more commonly known as LSD.

I think that’s what your son was thinking of.

Well, the waste product of the yeast is alcohol…

I thought that Cecil had done a column on the alcohol content of freshly-baked bread, but I can’t seem to find it.

The only thing is, once baked, the alcohol in the dough no longer exists, as it burns off in the baking process. Besides, the alcohol content is pretty minimal in a lump of dough… you’d be eating quite a bit to make a dent in your liver.

Fraid not Punoqllads - when the bread is baked the alcohol evaporates. Otherwise you would have to sell bread in an off licence.