Hints on abdominal exercise?

I had an operation a couple of years ago for a small hernia above my belly button. The doctors told me to “avoid abdominal exercise” - but they didn’t say for how long. Result (aided by my good friend beer): big wobbly belly. Recently I’ve decided to undo the damage, and have lost a bit of weight and started exercising my stomach muscles. However, I’m a novice at this sort of thing, so I wondered if anyone could give me any advice.

Currently, I’m doing 60 ab crunches every other day. Here is my list of demands:[ul][li]Is this enough, or should I be doing more?[/li][li]At what rate should I attempt to increase the number of crunches?[/li][li]I can’t do 60 crunches at a time, but I can do 20, and repeat at 5 minute intervals. Is that OK, or should I try to do as many as possible in one sitting, and then stop?[/li][li]Is there really a necessity for a 48-hour recovery time to “allow the muscles to repair” - according to one of my wife’s women’s magazines? Should I be exercising every day instead?[/li][li]The fat has receded from the sides of my stomach, but not the middle. What are the best exercises to remove the remaining portion?[/li]During the day, my stomach no longer sticks out, but when totally relaxed, such as lying in bed, my stomach still bulges like I’m 7 months pregnant. Is there some kind of inner muscular strength that I need to prevent this from happening? If so, what exercises should I be doing?[/ul]Thanks very much for any advice you may have.

You didn’t take hostages did you?

Just a few basics first:

Quality is better than quantity. Learn how to do crunches correctly because I’d bet my bank account you aren.t

Make sure your doctor says it’s ok to start after your hernia

There are three major parts to your abs: Rector Abdominus (six pack), the hip flexors(attaches pelvis to femus), and the obliques (they run up the sides). You need to work all three in the order I listed them.