History books

The other day when I was browsing the local Borders I bought “From Dawn to Decadence” by Jacques Barzun. It looked like a cool book, I was in the mood for lighter reading than software methodology tomes, and it was 30% off to boot. Honestly it’s the first history book I’ve read since college, but I can’t stop reading it. It’s addictive, and well thought and very insightful.

Has anyone else read this book? Do you enjoy it?

Plus, if you’re a history buff, do you know of similar books that I may enjoy?

Try Lies My Teacher Told Me by James W Loewen. It paints a disturbing, yet accurate portrait of U.S. history including all the parts your school textbooks either glossed over or flat-out lied about. The BS that is spewed upon our children in the name of patriotism is disgusting and this book does its best to set the record straight.

I am a recent Columbia grad in history, still somewhat influenced by Barzun’s work. Do you want more suggestions for books by Barzun or marterial on modern intellectual history?

MR

“A People’s History of the United States,” by Howard Zinn. A classic elitist history (in the sense that we should all strive to be elite) in showing how far we have fallen short, and how we can improve our future attempts. Great stuff (I particularly found the section on the abuse of power under the Sedition Act during WWI to fascinating).

Try these:

“Legends, Lies, and Cherished Myths of World History”
“Legends, Lies, and Cherished Myths of American History”
“I Love Paul Revere, Whether He Rode or Not”
all by Richard Shenkman

“History Laid Bare: Love, Sex, and Perversity from the Ancient Etruscans to Warren G. Harding”
by Richard Zacks

Anything by Eric Hobswam is good. Especially his history of the industrial revolution.