Hobbies that take up alot of time

What kinda weird things do you like to do? I’m so bored and I can’t think of anything to do except work out, which as you know can be tiring when its your only hobby :smiley:

Read… Wait. That’s not weird. Or is it?

the SDMB. DOH…

d&r

make chainmail,
paint little lead men&women&things
Make cards for a game called Talisman

The rest of the stuff I do with my time is really normal.

You could always try tatting…

I was in the Society for Creative Anachronism for a while… that’s nice and engaging, entertaining, and, depending on how deeply you get into it, can be very time-consuming.

Magic. I’m a part-time professional magician. Besides practicing, which takes up enough time itself, the conventions I attend almost always cut into my “regular” time.

Any hobby can easily expand to take up all your free time plus ten percent. (Hobbies are governed by the same law of physics that deals with closet space.)

I sew clothing, which has the nice advantage that you can tell everyone you’re doing something “productive” :cool:

A list of my lame hobbies:

1. Knitting
  2. Jewelry making
  3. Guitar lessons
  4. Training my puppy

I was thinking of taking up candle making. I like to make things that I can wear or use. Kind of fun. Taking up a musical instrument can be very time consuming.

-L

Restoring TR-7s takes a lot of time.
Scuba diving takes a lot of money.

Now I pretty much spend both on The Littlest Doper[sup]TM[/sup]

Try flying. Especially helicopters.

Diving took up too much time. I had to drive from Lancaster to Oxnard/Ventura in the wee hours, get on a dive boat and sail for a couple of hours, wait in line when my tank was empty, dive a little, and make the long trip home. An all-day event for just an hour or two of diving. When I fly it only takes about four hours home-to-home for a 90 minute flight.