Hook me up with compatible authors?

Hi all, I’m new to Cafe Society. When I visit the SDMB it’s typically to wade through the Pit, so forgive me if this question’s been beaten to death. It appears I need some Olympic-class amateur help here.

I’m a bookworm and I’ve read almost everything by my favorite authors. Usually this is not a problem–after fifteen minutes in a bookstore I pick a new winner–but I seem to have lost the knack. I spent literally hours in Powell’s in Portland, OR–if you know it you’ll understand the horror and scope of my problem–without successfully finding an excellent book I was dying to read. (Apart from The Lovely Bones, which I didn’t want in hardback as I had to hop a plane the next day.) I’ve bought a lot of books it turns out I don’t have a driving need to own; they take up space until I find a store to resell them in for a fraction of their value.

At any rate: what I’m looking for is some kind of book-matchmaking service or search engine. Something into which I can plug my likes and dislikes, which would then spew out some good hits for my taste, or lack thereof. Preferably free, as lack of funding is what stops me from just buying every book I like the look of. Anybody have a good source for me here? I don’t want to saddle fellow Dopers with the task of recommending me a book unless someone is feeling selfless, but point me in the right direction?

:confused: :frowning: :confused:

Someone on these very boards recently recommended whichbook.

Heck, just ask us. I love giving suggestions, if I have any.

I nipped over to whichbook, but honestly I don’t personally go for the way it’s arranged: you set a marker on various scales like Happy/Sad, Gentle/Violent, Short/Long, and it spits out some titles. It’s not really what I think I want. I guess what I want is movielens for books.

So then I ran over to movielens and sorted movies for awhile, to ease my mind.