How are croswords made?

So that thread on the NYT crossword puzzles over in CS made me think of something I was thinking of this week at work, since I have started doing crosswords myself (I suck at them, and can, at best, get about half of the words in the local papers easy crosword.) Btu I still wonder how they go about making them.

When I was in college, I was an editor for a student magazine, and we had a guy who wrote crosswords (I was told he is actually an amazing crossword writer and solver and has placed in several competitions for both.) His crosswords all had themes, of course, and some were even more interesting (he had one where one clue cold spawn two answers, and depending on which one you went with, decided the answers you’d use for the other clues near it.) I remember hearing that he used some kind of software program, and that the program actually made the grid and filled in the words, and he just wrote the clues, which to me seemed like a cop out. But then, if he uses themes and multiple answers and whatnot, obviosly he must have some control over the words in the puzzle. So does one just tell some software to make a puzzle, and to be sure to use a certain list of words?

Years back, I wrote crossword puzzles that I managed to seel to various publications, including the New York Times.

Initially, as a rank amateur, all I did was photocopy existing grids from newspapers, and start filling in entries of my own, with a pen or pencil. Once I was confident that I’d written some decent puzzles, I sent them to some crossword editors (including Will Shortz of the NY Times, Stanley Newman from Newsday).

The bad news is, they all shot me down. The good news is, they were all very nice about it. They sent me the standards they require their writers to follow, and they gave me a lot of feedback about precisely what they liked and didn’t like.