How can criminal law precedent ever be changed in the prosecutions favor?

Disclaimer: I’m not a lawyer which is why I’m asking this question, so it is entirely possible I am totally misunderstanding the situation.

So as I understand it legal precedent gets changed by having a court case based on that precedent goes through appeals all the way up to the supreme court which then rules that the precedent has changed, or at the very least that the lower courts understanding of the precedent was incorrect. But due to the rules against double jeopardy, if a defendant is found guilty, the state can’t retry him or appeal that decision.

So suppose at some point a judge in a court case established, for example, that police looking at facebook posts is an illegal search and so such evidence should be thrown out. Is there anyway to have this issue revisited? All cases in which the verdict would hinge on such evidence would begin with the lower court following precedent and throwing out the evidence resulting in an acquittal and so not be open to appeal.

If I have this right, then it appears that our legal system by design is on a ratchet which will continually expand rights in favor of the accused.

IANAL, but the prosecutor doesn’t appeal a verdict, per se. S/he appeals a misapplication of a law. I believe they have to file the appeal before the verdict is reached. In the example you cite, the prosecutor could appeal that the ruling. This appeal could go all the way to the Supreme court