How come my immunse system seems better now that I'm on immunosupressants?

I’ve been on methotrexate for about a year now, and in that time I’ve had one very minor cold. I usually get quite a few colds due to various factors - I have asthma, I’m a teacher, I travel by tube, I have a daughter at school, my GF works at a university, etc - basically I have crap lungs and am exposed to a lot of disease vectors. I also had swine flu in 2009 and had almost permanent colds for a couple of years after that.

My GF and daughter have both had several bad colds, tonsilitis (my GF, three times) and the actual flu (my daughter) in that time. I’ve been fine.

My theory is that we notice when we have cold viruses because our immune system response leads us to fight against it, and that’s what creates the snotty nose, fever etc. My immune system is now not bothering to fight back, so I don’t get the symptoms.

Is there any merit to this line of reasoning?

Note: I’m only on 10mg of methotrexate a week, much lower than people on chemo or people who’ve had transplants. I have also had some steroids but not for months, and have been fine for all those months. I eat healthily but no more so than before the methotrexate.

ETA: Apologies for typos - my keyboard is acting up.

more than a theory, that’s pretty much what happens. Rhinoviruses (the ones which cause the common cold) are pretty much benign other than taking up residence in your head for a little bit. The symptoms of a cold are due to your immune system going batshit crazy trying to kill a fruit fly with a howitzer.