How could the West sink enemy submarines with plausible deniability

And would the deniability aspect really matter?

I applaud (mainly through gratitude) the US and allies’ response to the Syrian CW attack on its own people.

In my own mind I think that Putin is equally culpable and the petty policeman president should also be brought to heel. I don’t think there is any doubt about Putin’s aggressive nature ( Crimea? Salisbury? )

So as per the title, could we levy a tariff on Putin and his cronies and beat him at his own game? If the West took out some of his subsurface assets could we maintain plausible deniability what could be the consequences good or bad?

Disclaimer: I am no military expert and have never been in the military or know anything classified:
It might be plausible to sink a Russian submarine and make it seem like another Kursk-type incident, but any more than one Russian submarine and the game is totally obvious, cover blown. And even then the Russians might try to inspect the wreckage. If they do so, it might be very evident indeed as to whether it was a Kursk-type accident or an intentional sinking by a US torpedo. The Russians would investigate very thoroughly, that’s for sure.

I doubt Russia would be fooled, but the rest of the world might be.

And if the US did do this sort of thing, what’s to prevent Russia from sinking some US ships or attacking US assets and passing it off as an accident likewise?

I’m thinking that also (what would stop Putin from trying the same)

But I suspect firstly they don’t have the capability, and secondly, they wouldn’t have the stomach.

Good job I’m not a world leader I guess!

But basically I guess it’s because I think Putin is getting bolder and bolder and I just wonder how a rabid dog can be tethered or reined in