How dangerous are fireworks to aircraft?

Inspired by the recent events in Egypt and the fireworks displays this time of year - got me to thinking, how much of a risk would a bunch of commercial fireworks pose to an aircraft?

Obviously aircraft typically fly much higher than the altitude of a display, but if a nefarious individual set a load off at the end of a runway when a plane is taking off or landing what are the chances of serious damage being done?

Physical damage? None at all. There isn’t any shrapnel in fireworks, so there won’t be any penetrating damage.

Distracting a pilot on takeoff or landing, OTOH, can cause problems.

On the gripping hand, we used to try to hit private aircraft coming in for a landing at Valdez, AK on the 4th of July with bottle rockets. Never got within a hundred feet of a plane, and the pilots I talked to later at the bar were more amused than concerned.

As a pilot, I would not be amused if you were shooting bottle rockets at my plane. I would report the incident to ATC who would likely forward the report to the local police. It is the same with lasers.

Even at the end of a runway, most aircraft are well above the height of most fireworks unless it’s a very short runway or the aircraft is heavily loaded. So you’d have to be on the runway or to one side of it.

Years ago I use to build model rockets which could go well over a thousand feet. I also was living on a US Air Force base. I did NOT launch my rockets any where near the base. Now days there are some really powerful model rockets and I believe that there are rules about where you can launch them.

I often land on an 11,000-foot runway and when crossing the threshold, I am less than 100 feet above the ground. During takeoff on the same runway I could be 500-1000 feet over the departure end depending on weight, wind and temperature.

Both are certainly in the range of fireworks.