How did "big board" strategic combat displays work?

Thisis an example of what I am talking about. Dr. Strangelove and other films have a movie prop version of this, such as in this iconic scene.

So the question is, how is this accomplished? The problem with hardwired light bulbs in the Strangelove scene is that it is very inflexible. The bombers may take a different route. There may be varying numbers of bombers. The enemy bomber tracks are unknown when someone wired up the board. And so on.

They obviously did not have the modern version, where you just set up a computer projector or use a bunch of flat panel monitors to render the output of the computer directly, so how *did *they do it?

I have no experience with such displays in a military context, but I did a lot of A/V work in the 60s and rear-projection screens are surprisingly effective for such purposes. Maps can be projected from film or glass and can be scrolled and zoomed quite easily. Then objects, including shapes, images, and highlights, can be added using very simple stage lights with drop-in cels. The added objects can even be rotated if you want the object to appear to turn and “return to base.”

Of course, most of this was done manually where I worked, but there’s no reason it can’t be motorized and controlled in a variety of ways. It’s not really very high-tech.

Just think of how simple it would be if you were using a front-screen projection set-up.

There are two key elements: (1) Computer technology to provide the graphics/text, and (2) Large-screen display technology.

Computer technology to produce moving vector graphics existed in the 1950s. Dynamic, real-time calculation and display using vector-graphics was demonstrated in 1961 in the first video game SpaceWar, running on a DEC PDP-1: Spacewar! on the Computer History Museum PDP-1 - YouTube