How did this guy die?

I saw on the news this morning a film clip of a NASCAR race where one of the top drivers was killed. I’m no expert in these matters but the crash looked puny. The car is racing straight ahead then slews off to one side and stops. Shortly after there was another accident, far more spectacular, where noone was killed. I’ve seen these cars on TV before and they look as well kitted out as F1 race cars with regards safety. Did I just see the crash from a bad angle or was it some freak accident? Maybe its a morbid question but I still think the crash didn’t look all that bad really.

I think the difference is that the car involved in the fatal accident virtually stopped after it hit the wall. Previously it had been going 180 miles per hour. That’s one hell of a lot of deceleration. In contrast, the spinning flying car never really stopped, so the forces involved were much less.

What I heard on two news broadcasts is that this wonderful man died of massive head injuries as a result of ramming into a cement wall at 140+ mph. Both reports went on to say that the sport has been looking into more effective safety equipment - some which might have saved this man’s life if he used the “state-of-art” head protectors.

Of course, some accidents and fatalities will happen no matter what you use. I was horrified to see what my daughter’s scooter helmet looked like after I ran over it with my nonSUV vehicle. I was tempted to shoot the scooter right then and there. You can’t make life risk free … especially when you undertake those with high risk.

Ouch :eek:
That is one hell of a smash. I’d forgotten my grammar school physics.