How Did Windows Miss On The Tablet Market?

Seems like Apple and Google (via Android) are doing fine. So what happened to Windows? Or will we be seeing them soon?

We will be seeing Windows 8 tablets very soon. But they will be too expensive IMHO and fail.
http://www.phonedog.com/2012/01/31/will-windows-8-tablets-be-too-expensive-to-succeed/

There have been various flavors of Windows tablets for more than a decade, but they never really caught on. For one, they were clunky, pretty much laptop hardware with a touch screen. Most recent tablet PCs are actually normal laptops with a reversible touch screen, so they can be used as either a tablet or a normal laptop. Compared to an iPad, the tablet PCs are humungous, heavy, and expensive.

Then, the interface frankly sucked. Windows works pretty well with a keyboard and a mouse, but the touch screen adaptations were pretty awkwardly kludged on top.

Basically they were very niche devices.

I worked in healthcare from about 2002-2007 and they were HUGE there. Doctors, nurses, physical therapists, all loved their tablets. Especially the physical therapists for some reason. And that was when they were on XP, which, let’s face it, had a crummy pen interface. (The pen interface for Vista and Windows 7 is much, much improved.)

So my answer is, “they didn’t miss.” It was (and still is) a successful product in a large market. It just never caught-on with consumers.

One of the promises of Windows 8 is that it will run on ARM hardware as well as Intel. This time next year you’ll see plenty of Windows 8 tablets akin to the iPad/Android ones you mentioned.