How did WWII-era submarines control electric motor speed?

Alright. I know that WWII-era submarines could vary their underwater speed, and that they were more efficient at lower speeds–which means they had some way of efficiently controlling the speed their electric motors were running at. And they were able to do this without semi-conductors.

So how exactly did they do it? Some sort of mechanical pulse-width modulation? Mechanical transmissions? What? :confused:

I have no personal knowledge, but they must have had many, many batteries on board so it would be an easy matter to have wiring set up to have many different voltages available.

Having the batteries wired in series and then “tapping” the chain at different locations would certainly change the voltage efficiently, but can you easily recharge such a setup without having to measure the specific gravity of each battery and recharge it accordingly?

Now that I think about it, I guess you could also just switch between groups of batteries, e.g., if you need half-power you could run off half the batteries, then switch to the other half, then back, etc.

I’d be really interested in details if this is, in fact, the case.

You could configure the batteries in banks so that various series and paralell combinations could be selected.

You could also vary the field current to a shunt connected motor. Reducing the field current is very much like changing gearing. When field current is reduced, speed increases, but torque is reduced. Since field current is modest compared to armature current, it would be practical to control this either with battery bank taps, or variable or tapped resistance.

Alternativly, two field windings could give 3 speeds when supplied from a fixed battery voltage:

1-Low n * I winding Highest speed
2-High n * I winding medium speed
3-Both windings in paralell (or maybe series) …lowest speed.