How do ant colonies reproduce safely, DNA wise?

With people and other life forms–I think–in large enough populations DNA-mixing allows individuals (phenotypes?) to die, because it prevents recessive genes to come to the fore for further reproduction. (As you can tell from the weird grammar, I have no Bio knowledge since HS.)

How do ant colonies work, then? I understand, sort of, how Darwinian evolution might have come up with social colonies, but how do the colonies stay stable in the evolutionary short term, which can be quite long indeed?

As I recall, the queen is fertilized, before establishing a nest, by a drone born in a nest other than hers. Then she digs the beginning of her nest, starts laying eggs, and does little else for the rest of her life.

I’m not sure exactly what your question is. However, the only reproductive individuals in an ant colony are the queens and males. When it comes time for colony to reproduce, it produces large numbers of winged females and males, which leave the colony on a nuptial flight. Normally these flights are coordinated between colonies (often triggered by events like a heavy rain storm). Females from one colony often mate with males from another, so there is cross-fertilization. The fertilized queen then founds a new colony, laying eggs and raising the larvae. This first brood becomes sterile workers that then raise all subsequent broods.

Yeah, I don’t really understand the question either, so I’ll just point out that ants are one of the most successful life forms on earth, with thousands of species found on every continent except Antarctica. So whatever it is that you think is a problem, it’s not really.

I think the OP may be wondering about the effect of all the individuals in the colony all having the same DNA, so there’s a lack of mixing of genes and lack of genetic diversity within a colony.