How do Athiests Stack Up? (Morally)?

I suspect that most athiests are very intelligent people, who have a highly developed moral sense. So, probably, most people who are athiestd probably have a very low rate of criminal activity. How do they compare with religious types? Anyone have any statistics o this?
I’d be curious to know what the incarceration rate for athiests is-versus religious.

I don’t think they check what religion you are when you are arrested or incarerated… at least not in the US.

The problem is that “atheist” describes what a person ***doesn’t ***believe, not what he ***does ***believe. There’s no reason why a serial killer or terrorist can’t be an atheist.

They’re on top, above the athier and the merely athy.

I’m no expert, but I found an interesting discussion here. Suffice it to say it’s a more complex question than it appears on the surface.

Here’s something agreeing with you, although it is done on a broader scale - countries with less religious populations see less crime. Correllation != causation, of course, but it’s worth noting:
http://moses.creighton.edu/JRS/2005/2005-11.html

Let me start by saying that I am a card-carrying atheist (not literally of course) as are my wife and children. Not that we did anything to make it explicit, god was never mentioned in our household. I think we are all fine, moral, upstanding, etc. While some religious people will kill for their beliefs, I would be surprised to find that the average serial killer, say, or rapist, had any belief in god. Of course, they are probably not atheist in my sense of having given it some thought and then concluded they could not believe in god. Since on average they have not given much thought to anything.
What I would actually expect is that, on average, atheists are neither more nor less moral than other people.

On the other hand, most of the greatest mass murderers in history were atheists. Cite.