How do I become a college professor?

Being a university professor has long seemed like a dream job to me; largely, it seems to entail researching and writing about topics you find interesting, and then discussing them with like-minded colleagues and young, optimistic students.

I realize, of course, that there is more than just that. Any job has it’s annoying responsibilities, and I’m sure that teaching is no exception. But I don’t really like my job practicing law, so I’m tempted to pursue academia, where I think I’d be more fulfilled.

The problem is that I don’t know how I could make the switch. I have a Juris Doctor and a Masters in Criminal Justice, but no PhD, or teaching experience. I’ve also only been licensed as an attorney for about 2 years, so I don’t have a long tenure in the “real world” to bring to teaching.

Any suggestions, then? I would appreciate any insight into avenues of how one might get into teaching (at the University level), and I would really appreciate any insights from those who are already professors who may shed the light of experience on my perceptions (even if your opinion is that my “dream job” really sucks).

Thanks.

It is indeed a dream job, for the reasons you describe (+ others).

Probably your best first step is to teach a night class at a community college, or similar.

Find out which schools in your area offer the kind of classes you’d be qualified to teach, and introduce yourself to the person-in-charge. You’d be surprised how often they are desperate to fill a last-minute hole.

Well, if you’re serious, you’ll almost certainly need to get a doctorate in some discipline, which won’t guarantee you a tenure track job, though the absence of a doctorate in most fields does guarantee you that you’ll never get one. That’s roughly five years out of your life.