How do I find musicians to play less popular forms of music?

I am a guitarist who mainly likes these forms of music:

• Jazz Fusion
  • Latin Jazz
  • Gypsy Jazz
  • Celtic

Obviously, the former three have much more in common than the latter one does. I got into Celtic music via Dusty Strings in Seattle.

However, what they all have in common is that they are not all that popular. I have never met another student here at the UW who is a Gypsy Jazz fan, and Fusion and Latin Jazz fans are fleeting.

How does one go about finding musicians to jam with when the music forms aren’t that popular?

The easiest route might be to find good musicians who are open to the idea of exploring new cultures and styles in general, and introducing them to the stuff you like. And they could probably introduce you to a few new things, too.

Pt an ad in The Stranger.

Is that UW(isconsin) or UW(ashington)?

If it’s Madison, I can definitely hook you up with some Gypsy Jazz folks - there’s quite a presence here.

If it’s Washington, I don’t know what to tell you.

Thank you very much for your offer, but I am a University of Washington student.

Not that popular?!? In Spokane? Surely you jest?

Give a call to KPBX and advise them of your plight.

UW has a school of music, right? They probably have a board for postings like “Bass player needed” and “Guitarist looking for group” that you could put an ad on.

If you’ve got a LiveJournal account and you’re willing to risk major snarkage, you could post in the Seattle community. But lurk for a few days first to get a sense of their humor/hate so you don’t get mocked too much.

Have you tried Craigslist? I haven’t used it myself for that, but I know it has musical ads. You could browse ads or post your own.