How do I know if a therapist can help me?

I don’t know anything about mental health professionals and I don’t really know when they should be called on. I figured I would ask on here to find out maybe what I should do.

Here is my background situation:

I have always been a pretty well balanced guy. I grew up pretty poor and made friends with the wrong kids (nerds) very early on in my life. Unfortunately I grew up in a small town, so I graduated HS with the same kids that I started kindergarten with. The problem with this is that once kids form an opinion of you they tend to keep it forever unless there is some drastic change that makes them think differently. So I grew up as an outcast etc… I won’t go into that story because you have all probably heard the same one from a million different people on this board at one time or another.

Flash forward to when I turned 18. I had my first sexual experience at this age. It was with the girl I was in love with my whole life and it was worth the wait. I went in the USAF and moved out of my home town. When I got thru basic and hit my first duty station I was lacking the skillset that I needed to go out and meet people. I was, and am, extremely uncomfortable around people I don’t know. I met a girl there who I dated for a year and a half. We were best friends as well, so I pretty much hung out exclusively with her. Then she cheated on me while I was TDY in the desert and I had to dump her.

So I had about 4 months after I broke up with her to break out of my shell, make some friends, and have a 20 year olds life before I was going to go to Korea. I managed to meet some nice people and I partied, had sex, and did all the things young guys do. Didn’t make any really good friends though.