How do languages work in our brains?

VeryCoolSpouse and I (and the 3 little ones) visited some Chinese friends over the weekend. We are both native English speakers, they both speak English very well but Chinese is their birth language. There happened to be a trivet on the table, and I asked if there is a Chinese word for “trivet.” Neither of them had heard the word; both VeryCoolSpouse and I knew it.

I’ve probably heard the word 5 times in my life (I’m 55 years old), but had no problem bringing it to mind. When I’m studying Chinese, I have to repeat a word many more times than that before I can remember it, and even then it disappears from my brain if I don’t refresh it once a week or so. Why is that? How can I remember obscure English words that I haven’t used for years, but Chinese words evaporate in moments?

Before this question gets pushed past page one, I just wanted to reassure you there is an answer to your question, and it is: No one has a clue.

It is acknowledged that in general, things are as you have experienced them. And they know that different parts of the brain activate when learning one’s first language as opposed to learning a second one later in life, and when speaking in one’s first language and when speaking a second language. They also know that up to a certain age (around 11, IIRC) you can learn any number of languages as a “first” language, whether simultaneously or “in series.” And they know that successful second-language learning requires very different methods compared to successful first-language learning. (First language learning works like this: Hang out with people who speak that language for a year or two, and you’ve got it. Second-language learning generally takes study and rote practice. Language immersion helps a little, but won’t get you there like it will for first-language learning.)

As to “how” it all works, nobody knows.

-Kris