How do people that work in really boring and stable industries stay motivated?

I work in IT so it is fairly easy to change industries because much of the core technology was the same. I have never worked at some place really cool like Google or NASA but I have worked in the supermarket industry, sound technology (Bose), fashion (clothing retailing and shoe design), outsourced benefits administration and now medical device manufacturing. Out of all of those the only one that I would call mostly boring was the benefits administration but there was still a ton to know and it changed completely every year with a new set of plans for lots of mega-corps. Some of the others may sound boring but mostly weren’t. The supermarket headquarters I worked for at the time doubled in size in the three years I was there and was always introducing the current mega-store concepts that started in the late 90’s. Bose was always on the cutting edge of sound research and clothing changes regularly by design. Medical device manufacturing is really high tech and my favorite of them of all.

However, there has to be a ton of people out there that work on things that hardly ever change in significant ways. Everyone needs cardboard boxes for example. There has to be a number of wholesale box salespeople out there as well as people that work mainly with toilet seats and every other mundane product that keeps the modern world turning. I am sure some of them make good money doing it but I wonder how you motivate yourself to sell or make yet another huge load of boxes or toilet lids. Does anyone know someone that works in an industry like that as a long-term profession? What are they like and why do they do it?

I suppose the reason people work at those jobs is because they lend themselves to not being particularly motivated.