How do you download MP3 files?

Sorry for my supreme ignorance, but I’ve never done it before.

1. Is it like downloading a music sample using RealAudio at Amazon.com?

2. Do I need special software or hardware for my PC?

3. Can you recommend a good site? Is the music free?

4. Is it a simple matter of clicking on a particular song, downloading it, and then clicking on an icon and the music plays over the PC speakers?

Any information you can provide would be really appreciated.

I will be happy to tell you what I can.
1) Um…sort of. It just takes longer, especially if you have a 56K like I do.
2) My Gateway EV700 came with the capabilities already built in. I believe you could buy a CD burner/writer…Someone else can describe this a bit better.
3-4) I used to use Napster but all their legal problems made me nervous, so I dumped all the files and severed all ties. Now I use Audiogalaxy, at www.audiogalaxy.com. You create a user name and password, download their satellite (program that allows you to send and receive music files via their site), and start searching for songs. the trick is to spell them wrong, or spell the bands’ name wrong, or watch for the first line of the song used in place of a title. This is to get around the copyrights. Then you click on “get most popular version” and wait for the download to complete. It often takes me 20-40 minutes to get one song, so I just request two or three at a time. It does slow everything down for me, though, so I don’t do it until I’m finished with all other surfing…except Doping, of course. :slight_smile: Audiogalaxy is free.