How do you dry exit a Kayak?

I recently purchased a 10.5 ft Dagger Kayak, which I am very happy with, but after a nice ride down the river I always have trouble getting out safely/gracefully.

I admit I’m still a newbie, but I have a good sense of balance and I am fairly strong, so I must be doing something wrong.

I’m not talking about a ‘wet exit’, I’m just talking about safely stepping onto a riverbank.

When I try to stand up, or put one foot on the bank, the kayak begins to move and there’s no way I can step out of it without landing on my rear end, or in the water.

Is there some generally accepted way to safely exit a kayak without ending up either lying on the ground or dog paddling in the river?

For exiting I usually paddle straight into the shore assuming it’s sloping. The kayak rides a bit onto the land and I can stand up, easier balancing with half the kayak on land.

If you have high banks not sure what the recommended method is.

Most my kayaking ends up in lakes because managing children in rivers is to much work.

Push your butt up so you are sitting on the hull of the kayak. Put your legs out to the side both at the same time so you can stay balanced. You are now straddling the hull, put both feet on the ground and stand up . If the water is a little deep or to help you balance try backing into shore, when you scoot your butt up the shift in weight will firmly ground the back of the kayak and make it easy to balance and stand up.

I use the same technique when there is a beach, but usually there is just the river bank and no beach. I think there should be a way to use my paddle to brace myself somehow, but I haven’t figured out how to do that yet.