How does a knock sensor work

Scenario: high-compression engine needs higher octane fuel to prevent the fuel-air mix from combusting spontaneously due to pressurization–to make it wait for the car’s spark to ‘tell’ it to ignite.

So you put a lower octane fuel in the engine and you get this premature combustion (detonation! it’s as bad as it sounds) and the engine naturally runs like poop. In anticipation of people mis-fueling their cars, engine makers devised a knock sensor that (I think) detects a pattern of detonation, figures out you’re burning the wrong fuel, and makes some adjustments to minimize engine damage and poor performance.

What adjustments, exactly? less fuel & more air in the mix?

Knocking can be caused by a variety of causes.

I am not an expert, but within a certain range the car’s computer will try to retard the sparks if it detects knocking.

Couple of misunderstandings in your post.

A knock sensor does not help against pre-ignition. Luckily what you will have in your scenario (high compression engine with low octane fuel) is not pre-ignition, as that will destroy an engine in seconds.

In your scenario you will have “spark-knock”, aka “pinging”. It occurs after the spark plug ignites the fuel. The pressure in the chamber raises rapidly and the fuel/air mix in a different part of the chamber spontaneously ignites causing a second flame front.

The two flame fronts colliding causes a super sonic shock wave that rings the engine block making the characteristic pinging noise.

Spark knock is not terrible for an engine although can cause damage if it is going on for a long time.

The ringing of the block tends to be in a fairly narrow frequency range, right above 6KHz. The knock sensor is nothing but a piezo-electric microphone coupled with a bandpass filter that removes everything but the 6KHz tone.