How does Kreskin do it?

I got to see Kreskin live last night and he was truly amazing.
I don’t expect that anyone can give a scientific answer as to how he reads minds but I am convinced there are no plants in the audience. As a science teacher I fully doubt that he can read minds but as a member the the audience, it is hard not to believe that he some special ability. At one point, he told a couple what their phone number was! That was after he told them their street and house number! I can see how some of the stuff he did was gimicky and he did cover his mistakes well but his ability to tell people personal information, read hidden pieces of paper etc. was uncanny.

Is there any way to eliminate the possibility that he is getting the information from plants moving through the audience before the show?

Phone number and address might come up if they wrote a check at some point in the box office, maybe?

-FrL-

Heh, that guy’s still alive?

Unless he told me MY name, address, and phone number, I would still believe that the audience members are plants.

I am not a magician but let me ask how much do you want to spoil the illusion of the show? I can think of a bucketload of methods to come up with names, addresses, phone numbers and plenty of more obscure info from a crowd of people at a theatre. And that’s starting “cold”, that is with zero audience interaction.

If the audience does anything aside from “walk in, sit down and keep their mouths shut” then that opens up a host of other ways to come up with stuff that will seem amazing, including what I believe is one of Kreskin’s signature tricks, guessing a person’s SSN.