How else could War of the Worlds ended? (spoilers)

While I have to admire Speilburg and co for going with the ending of the original book – the Earth germs felling the alien invaders – it still seemed like a deus ex machina kind of ending.

It does beg the question though, how else could the movie have ended without the aliens winning? The only way I can think of that wouldn’t also seem a cop out would be the invaders leaving as mysteriously as they came. Signs took this route, and I think it was a great way to end the invasion, stupid water aliens aside.

I’m sure there are more creative minds than me though, does anyone else have any suggestions? Or feel like they were watching Half Life 2: the movie at times?

I remember a 50’s (I think) science fiction movie where the aliens were destroyed by rain. That was reassuring to a 10-year-old. :slight_smile:

I’m no scientist, so to me, germs (and rain) being deadly to aliens is plausible.

I like your idea too, but my first thought would be that they’re leaving things open for a sequel.

We could get them to war with each other and they destroy themselves. We could capture their superior advanced technology and use it against them. We could genetically engineer the germ that kills them. We could figure out how to communicate with them and negotiate a diplomatic solution. We could nuke the planet, thereby making it uninhabitable for anyone. We could be saved by a third party (i.e. another alien race or Jesus packing Rambo bandoliers). We could be saved by a gigantic error or miscalculation on the alien’s part. We could be saved by dumb luck (i.e. a meteor strikes their main control nexus). How’s that?

We could dicover that their computers readily interface with Macs and download a virus that…oh wait, that one’s been done.

Perhaps we could find a way to exploit the aliens lack of Telephone Sanitizers.

Slim Whitman “When I’m calling you-oooo-oooooo”