How ESPN made me a sports collectible

The short of it:

Check out what ESPN is auctioning off on eBay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2167562175

The long of it:

A little setup:

1. I have been bleaching my hair blonde for about the last 18 months, and
  2. I’m at work at 5am every day, partly so I can listen to my favorite radio show, the nationally syndicated ESPN morning show, Mike and Mike in the Morning (http://espn.go.com/espnradio/morning.html).

Last June, Mike and Mike, who usually broadcast their show from Bristol, Connecticut, came to Dallas to do their radio show. I thought it would be fun to go see the guys I listen to every day, so I went and watched the show. Now earlier that week, I had my hair cut, but I had not re-bleached it before I went to see the show. So, the top of my hair was blonde, while the sides and roots were my usual dark brown. My hair, to put it simply, looked bad. Now Mike Greenberg, the “little Mike” of Mike and Mike, decided this was funny, and so while on-air, he picked on me about my hair. All meant in fun, of course, as he told me during a break. The next day, when the show was on again, Mike recounted the past day’s events and once again remarked on my hair, calling me “the guy with the unfortunate dye job.”

I thought this was pretty funny, so in keeping with that, whenever I write into the show (which is fairly often) I “sign” my name as “The Guy with the Unfortunate Dye Job”.

This has continued until February, when Mike and Mike once again did their show from Dallas. Again, I went to watch the show. Of course, I purposefully made sure my hair looked as bad as the last time, which meant that once again Greeny made fun of my hair on-air. Unlike before, however, I took my camera. One of the pictures I got was of Mike and Mike with me.