How fake-able is a nuclear test?

If North Korea piled 50,000 tons of TNT (don’t ask how they could acquire that much TNT) into an underground chamber, then detonated it, and then released Xenon-131, Xenon-133, Xenon-135 and the other element byproducts associated with a nuclear test so that those elements could be sniffed by American spy planes that sniff the atmosphere for this sort of thing, would it be able to pass for a 50-kiloton “test?”

If North Korea pump Umpteen tons of Liquefied Natural Gas, from it’s own sources, into an underground chamber, say a abandoned underground mine, then detonated it, and then released Xenon-131, Xenon-133, Xenon-135 and the other element byproducts associated with a nuclear test so that those elements could be sniffed by American spy planes that sniff the atmosphere for this sort of thing, would it be able to pass for a 50-kiloton “test?”
Maybe.

Was that supposed to be a link?

I am not an expert, but as I understand it, the seismic signature of a nuclear explosion is unique. It can be differentiated from a conventional explosion. I will try to find a cite.

Here is one easy cite:
http://www.geotimes.org/june07/article.html?id=WebExtra060507.html

it shows that I overstated the case. The signatures are different but not unique. There is actually more concern that by setting off conventional explosives one might mask an actual nuclear test.

ETA: mostly ninja’d by rbroome.
IMO the seismic signature of a large LNG explosion is going to be very different from that of a nuke. A TNT explosion will be more similar to a nuke. Whether it’s similar enough to fool our (and Russia’s) detectors is a secret I sure don’t know.

One thing I thought was that the number of byproduct isotopes from a nuclear explosion is so broad that they could never all be collected beforehand and released. It’s possible that you might know which ones are most likely to be looked for–many of them would never last long enough to be found anyway.

no.