How fast did you pay off your car?

My car was 26000$ CAD after taxes. I put 6000$ down with a financing plan to pay it off after four years with 1.9% interest. My goal though is to pay it off in about 2.5ish years. Then I can reap the benefits of life without a car payment hopefully for the next 8 - 10 years.

How about you?

As a recent college grad, I stuck to the financing plan that I made up with Honda. Five years, monthly payment of about $300, paid off right on time.

As long as it took me to write the check.

Not as noble as it appears. 15-year-old car needed the “last straw” big-$ repair for an unsafe-to-drive condition. I’m unemployed right now–no way to get financing/leasing options. Had to rob my IRA. Downside: had to rob the IRA. Upside: no car payments & a reliable Honda.

Gosh, how I HATE this recession…

The last one - a 1995 Ford Thunderbird for about $7k - in 8 months. That was in 2002-2003.

My 2009 Honda Fit (bought in July with Cash-for-Clunkers) will be paid off by the end of this year no matter what, even if the layoff rumors at my company are true and I lose my job.

I’m pretty good at not having car payments as a regular part of my life, but still imagine my father spinning in his grave. He would not even drive the car off the lot unless it was paid in full.

Three years, at $351.95/mo. Now that it’s over I feel like I’m swimming in cash! :smiley:

Out of the 5 new cars I bought most recently, I financed 1 for a year as they were giving 0%. The others I put on credit cards, which I paid off as soon as the first bill came.
Paid cash last Sunday for my most recent car, but it cost all of $2500! :wink:

I bought my car 1997 for just under 20K. I paid it off by 2000.

Always buy used and always cash up front. No terms, no plans, no debt.