How hard is it for a party to contest a Will and win?

Let’s say someone isn’t happy with what they get, so they are planning on contesting the Will etc…

How hard is it for someone to win their case? Does it happen often? In other words, are Wills easily penetrated or not? If they are, what good are they? Sorry if my question is rather vague, but if I went into detail, you’d be reading for a while.

With the disclaimer that I have very little practical experience in estate law (“very little” = “none”), I think I’m safe in saying: It depends.

Specifically, it’s going to depend on what grounds the challenge asserts as a reason to break the will. “I just know Aunt Lucy wanted me to have the Porsche,” is not as likely a winner as “The law in this state requires that a will be witnessed by two people, and there are no witness signatures on this document that purports to be his will.”

Between those two extremes lie a vast gulf.

As to how often challenges are made and how often they succeed… I defer to someone with knowledge of the field.

I am not a lawyer.

I heard that the shortest legal will in the UK read “All to mother”.

I know that when a great-aunt of mine died, leaving nothing of real value, there were a couple of family members who insisted that they were meant to get e.g. a £20 brooch because “she promised it to me!”.
There was no legal basis for the claim, but they annoyed the executor (who was a family member) a lot.

1. “Not happy with what I got in the will” is almost always a surefire loser as a basis for challenge. Some states permit certain heirs to take against the will (the widow, for example). But taking against the will isn’t challenging it.

2. Wills are presumptively valid, so the the challenging party has an uphill battle. And as Bricker says, not all reasons are created equal.