How hard would it be to become a teacher?

As I am starting to seriously consider a career as a high school teacher, I decided to do some research on my own but the results are far from clear. It seems that each state has its own set of rules for teachers in public schools, different rules for what it takes to become certified and also different rules concerning whether you need to be certified before you start teaching or can study during your first years as a teacher.

Here’s my situation. I have a B.S. in computer science from a high ranked college of science and engineering. I also have an extensive background in math, as in I’ve taken more classes than would be necessary to get a B.S. However, I have very little experience working with children. My only experience comes from volunteer work I did with a program organized by a local church to introduce children to computers.

Given all this, how long, realistically, could I expect to spend getting certified? Also, what is the job market really like for high school teachers right now? Is it reasonable to expect that if I get certified, I’ll find employment right away?

You’re going to have to check with an advisor to see how many of your undergraduate courses can be applied to what you need for a teacher’s certification, but given the number of courses that must be taken in sequence, I’d guess 3 to 4 semesters.

Yes, there’s a net shortage of teachers. But that doesn’t mean every district has a shortage of teachers. If you embrace teaching in an inner-city high school in another state, you’ll probably have no trouble at all.