How much do I tip the bagging people at the Comissary?

I went grocery shopping today and I’m proud of myself, I didn’t just by junk food. Anywho, how much do I tip the people who took my bags out to my car? A couple of bucks? A dollar per bag? I just gave the guy three dollars, but what is the customary amount?

I worked as a carry-out bagger once. Most people didn’t give anything at all. $1 - $2 dollars was typical for those that did tip and I occasionally got a $5. That was in the late '80s. $3 sounds good for a typical load.

I worked at Safeway for a month or so. It was company policy to not accept tips. In that time only a single person offered and I didn’t accept.

This is a military commissary, so the baggers are independant contractors, who work for tips alone. A dollar per bag sounds about right, maybe less if you have a bunch of bags.

Hey, my first foray into the world of employment was as a commissary bagger. RAF Upper Heyford, UK, and Bergstrom AFB, Texas. From about the age of 13 until I started college - so about 6 years.

I hated and loved bagging. Cheapskates, crotchety old retirees yelling “don’t crush my eggs,” getting caught behind a slow and hostile cashier were the low points. On the other hand, the nice people, former baggers who remembered what a tough job it could be, kind retirees who’d show you the interior of their Winnebago… and the buck sergeants who would give you a five dollar tip, even though they probably couldn’t afford it.

Keep in mind this was back in the mid 80s to early 90s for me… but I sort of expected to make between $7-$10 and hour. Baggers had to pay the bagging chief a “fee” (like $5) but typically, I’d come in after school, try to bag about 5-6 orders an hour (of course this depended on how busy the commissary was, if we were close to payday, etc.). Express lane rocked, because of the volume, but that was on a rotational basis.