How sophisticated are computer models of human cells?

How well can computer models replicate the biochemical inner workings of a human cell?

Thanks,
Rob

I’m no expert, but I do know we don’t even know how to fold the proteins the cells create into their proper shape. Stanford uses spare CPU’s on people’s PC’s and PS3’s to try to crack this one problem.

They may be able to measure reaction rates for known processes and go from there to do very very basic simulations, but if your thinking modeling the cell by modeling the chemicals in it there is no chance. As RaftPeople mentioned, they can’t even predict how a single protien folds, an entire cell is out of the question. Even the Stanford calculation are using major approximations. A protien is way too huge for ab-initio calculations.

We can model the Hydrogen atom perfectly though.

Currently we are limited to the hundreds of atoms for “perfect” modeling using quantum mechanics (and as WarmNPrickly said ab initio computations, meaning “from scratch”). Those techniques take the electrons into account, and lots of things that only quantum mechanics guys understand (like eigenstates). We can model very large proteins decently though using standard molecular calculations, and can even design drugs that work off of these calculations. They aren’t perfect, but they work. I’ve never seen anything larger than the ribosome actually modeled though, which is still very small in relation to the entire cell.

There are some very nice videos on the inner life of the cell though, see http://www.studiodaily.com/main/technique/tprojects/6850.html, and click on “Watch the video” on the left a few paragraphs down.