How strictly do you follow packaging warnings or instructions?

Personally, I view most over the counter drug dosage charts and warnings as “guidelines.”

For example, with Dayquil or similar medicine, I assume that I can safely go two or three times over what they’re telling me to take without any problems. They’re not really telling me how much I should take, they’re telling me the bare minimum I should take just in case someone does get sick and sues the crap out of them.

I also very rarely read the instructions that come with my electronics as I prefer to figure out how everything works on my own. Sometimes I’ll refer to a guide if there’s something specific I’m curious about, but otherwise it sits unopened.

Anyone else as laissez faire about this stuff as me?

I am not a doctor, but this type of thinking can kill you, especially if the drug in question is acetaminophen, which is in Dayquil.

I would think this is why guidlines are made low, so when people do that, they aren’t as effected.

When I get an OTC, I will look on the Internet to see recommend doses.

I pay for my meds and it hacks me off when I took a prescription for ibuprofen from a dentist and was told by the CVS pharmacy it’s not the same thing as taking 4 200mg pills of OTC ibuprofen. So I went to Walgreens and asked their pharmacist and he said “Of course it is, save yourself some money.”

When you get conflicting opinions like this it makes you realize you need to stay informed for you own sake, 'cause no one will do it for you

Sure, if you’re a dummy about it, which I’m not. I’m someone who’s aware of what various drugs (including acetaminophen) can and will do to your body so I don’t abuse them. I just mean that if it says my dose is “1 TBSP,” I’m not giong get out the little measuring cup to make it exact. I’m going to swig it from the bottle until it feels like enough, and not stress it that much. I’m not talking about guzzling Dayquil all day, every day, until my liver is destroyed.