How to make people in my office less...incompetent

A little background. I work as a mid-level manager at a mid-sized managemement consulting firm in NYC. The structure of my particular group consists of roughly 25 junior and senior staff level consultants that report to about a dozen mid-level managers at my level who report to about half a dozen senior management types. While it seems top heavy (and it is) the nature of the work is such that each mid-level manager has an number of projects, each employing 1-5 staff (there is overlap).

While most of the staff are competent and/or hardworking, many are not. Few are both. Problems include:
-Excessive tardiness or leaving work
-Showing up hungover or drunk from the night before
-Sloppy work
-Inability to create proper written communications
-Failure to complete assignments in a timely manner (or at all)
-General laziness and stupidity

Now, IMHO, the root causes of the problems include:
-Staff members are often assigned to multiple projects under multiple managers creating a constant tug-o-war
-Each mid-level manager has their own style of management and their own expectations ranging from not giving a shit to complete intolerance of mistakes
-Rampant nepotism and cronyism
-No accountability beyond the yearly performance evaluation
-Most of our management has been promoted to their positions in a relatively short period of time. Few have any leadership experience outside of the company. Only two (including me) have any formal management schooling.
-Many of our managers set terrible examples anyway - working from home on a whim, encouraging excessive drinking at company events (long after the other groups have called it a night)
-“Get it done now” mentality which favors just blasting work out and redoing it when someone catches a mistake.
So, any thoughts on how to get people to work better or should I just say “fuck it” and show up drunk tomorrow to dull the pain?