How to reasonably estimate college costs in 2020?

Not sure this is a GQ, but I’ll give it a shot.

I’ve been socking money away aggressively in 529s for children for a few years now. I feel pretty good about how much I’ve been able to save, but I am having a very hard time figuring out if it is actually enough. Estimates for the cost of a 4-year education in 15 or so years are all over the map. Anywhere from $10K/year to $100K/year.

Sure, there is a huge amount of uncertainty in play here, but not only can I not find an accepted figure, I cannot find the reasoning used for any of these estimates. Many of them do specify public/private and area of country, so it’s not just the simple variation in the pool.

So, I guess my poorly formed questions are:

1. Is there a consensus estimate, or model?
  2. If not, is there a consensu range of values that seems reasonable?
  3. If not, how do financial professionals advise their clients – how do they plan for the future?
  4. (Moving out of GQ) – if you have a 529 and have thought about this question, what numbers are you using?

My cut and paste is blown up, but here are links to a few calculators - savingforcollege.com, sfc.529calculators.com, www.learningquestsavings.com.

bump.

no one wants to give it a try?

It depends on what type of school they want to go to and whether they will get some type of scholarship, take out loans, or work while they are in school. The full bill for your typical private school is likely to be about 40 - 50K a year per child by then. Public school will be all over the map but figure about half that.

I think you’re underestimating the current cost of college. My alma mater is already about $45,000 per year, including tuition, fees, room and board.

I understand there are schools at the high end of cost. I went to one (on scholarship) but some private schools are much cheaper than others. I have pretty decent knowledge of colleges and was making a guess somewhere in the middle.